巴城中華基督教會剛剛慶祝了她47歲的生6日!沒有上帝的權柄和一些兄弟姐妹多年忠心的侍奉,這個里程碑是不可能達成的。以下是巴城中華基督教會的大事年表,從1972年卑微的開始直到如今。

巴城教會的第一個主日崇拜是四十五年前,1972 年 8 月 20 日,在陳牧師和陳師母家舉行的。教會增長到周圍停車區容不下之後,陳牧師家的巴城教會就搬進了我們第二階段的處所。

在 1975年 6 月,主日崇拜搬到了陶森基督教青年會。在基督教青年會許多年以後,他們日漸增加的需要以致他們期望能終止我們的租約催逼了我們尋找其他的場所。

歷經了九年在基督教青年會之後,主日崇拜在1984 年 9 月 2 日遷移到陶森加略山浸信會教堂。因為我們租用陶森加略山浸信會會堂,崇拜是在下午舉行。

在搬到陶森加略山浸信會教堂之前,巴城教會提交了一份在 10012 哈福路建築的合同。1984 年 11 月 13 日簽結了哈福路的產權。它是一棟兩層樓的民宅。經過六個月的整修,1985年5 月5日舉行了第一次的主日崇拜。這是第一棟我們可以稱作是我們自己的會堂。弟兄姐妹們熱切地禱告和擺上才購買了這一會堂。

1986 年 5 月 22 日我們心愛的開堂牧師陳牧師離開了世界。過世後,在哈福路的年間Knettler 牧師和Buettner牧師常常補上我們的講壇直到1987 年 7 月林牧師和他的家人來到。我們最終仍不夠用。在楊光甫牧師新的帶領下和同工們就開始尋找另一個新的會堂。

在哈福路九年後我們暫時搬到了小熊山長老會教堂。這次搬遷的原因是我們需要更大的空間,它同時也讓我們能出售哈福路的建築用以資助新堂的購置。

在 1992 年 10 月我們出價購買克倫威爾橋的地產,但沒有成功。陳師母提醒幫助我們保持了購置這地產機會的想法,靠著神的恩典,我們在1993 年 8 月簽了合同。購買的價格是五十萬元。它對整個教會大家庭的信心是相當大的一步。神是信實的,我們將一切榮耀歸給祂。我們在1995 年 3 月正式擁有了這份房產。

修建始于 1996 年 4 月。 經過 13 個月的建造,1997 年 6 月 1 日我們第一次主日敬拜在我們1800 克倫威爾橋的所在舉行,正是二十年前。那些來了很長時間的人可能都記得幾乎整個教會在1997 年 5 月開始的兩個周末來教會植樹。我們種植 了250株喬木和灌木。在我們要開始種樹的第一個星期六之前,下雨了。我們討論是否要叫停,但還是決定如期進行,因為樹苗已經到了,人也開始來了。雨停了,它也軟化了土壤讓我們來植樹。上帝知道祂在做什麼。我們當時沒有牧師。但教會大家庭同心合一的來事奉。

上帝回应了我们的祷告。1998年,祂把沈牧师和他的家人帶到我们的教會。

兩層的真道樓是原本會堂的延伸。於2007年建成。當初我們建真道樓的時候,第一層沒有全部完成。此後,我們建造了講台和洗礼用的更衣間。也加上了可以活動的隔板給兒童敬拜提供了場所。

唐牧師和他的妻子朱莉搬到巴爾的摩,並開始在CCCB服事。從2014年的九月開始,唐牧師擔任英語副牧師。

CCCB 現在約有250位會眾,現在正在進行許多會堂的裝修翻新及擴展我們的敬拜主堂。

CCCB的歷史見證了上帝的偉大和信實。我們也要向那些對教會建造有異象,及仰賴上帝會充足供應資源及財力來建造這座會堂的信心的弟兄姐妹們心存感念。有些已經離世與天父在一起了。有些搬離了巴爾的摩。但是很多弟兄姐妹到今日仍然在CCCB。

Chinese
English Chinese

The Chinese Christian Church of Baltimore just recently celebrated its 46th anniversary! This big milestone could not have been met without God’s sovereignty and the commitment of several brothers and sisters who faithfully served in this church for so many years. Below is a timeline of how CCCB came to be what it is today from its humble beginnings in 1972.

CCCB’s first Sunday serviced was held at the home of Rev. Chen and Mrs. Chen on August 20, 1972. After the church outgrew the parking area around Rev. Chen’s home, CCCB needed to look for a different place to meet.

In June of 1975, Sunday services moved to the Towson YMCA. After many years at the YMCA, CCCB’s growing needs and the YMCA’s desire to terminate our lease forced us to look for alternate facility.

After nine years at the YMCA, Sunday services moved to Calvary Baptist Church in Towson on September 2, 1984. Since we were renting from Calvary Baptist Church, the services were held in the afternoons.

Before the move to Calvary Baptist Church, CCCB submitted a contract for the building at 10012 Harford Road. Settlement for the Harford Road property was completed on November 13, 1984. It was a two-story residential building. After six months of renovations, the first service was held on May 5, 1985. This was the first building that we could call our own. Brothers and sisters prayed fervently and gave sacrificially to purchase this property.

Our beloved founding pastor, Rev. Chen passed away on May 22, 1986. After his passing, Rev. Knettler and Rev. Buettner frequently filled our pulpits during our years at Harford Road until Rev. Lin and his family came in July of 1987. We eventually out grew this facility. Under the leadership of our new Pastor Yang Kuang-Fu and co-workers, we started to look for a new facility.

After 9 years at Harford Road we temporarily moved to Cub Hill Presbyterian church. The reason for the move was that we needed more space and it also allowed us to sell the Harford Road property to finance the purchase of a new facility.

We made an offer to purchase the Cromwell Bridge property in October of 1992 but we were not successful. Mrs. Kathy Chen was instrumental in keeping the idea of purchasing this property alive and by God’s grace we signed the contract in August of 1993. It was quite a step of faith for the entire church family. God was faithful and we give all the credit to Him.

Construction of our present church started in April 1996.  After 13 months of construction, we had our first worship service at 1800 Cromwell Bridge Road on June 1, 1997. Almost the entire church came out to plant trees on the first two Saturdays of May, 1997. We planted 250 trees and shrubs. Before we started planting on the first Saturday, it rained. We debated whether to call off the planting but decided to go ahead as planned because the trees were on site and people started arriving. The rain stopped and it softened the ground for us to plant. God knew what He was doing. We did not have a pastor at the time, but the church family came to serve together in unity.

The Lord answered our prayers by bringing Pastor Shen and his family to serve at our Church beginning in July of 1998.

The two-story Logos Building, an extension to the original church building, was completed in January of 2007. When we built the Logos Building, the first floor was not finished. Since then we built the stage and the dressing rooms for baptism. Movable partitions were also added which provided a room for children’s worship.

Pastor Tom Tofilon and wife, Julie, moved to Baltimore to begin serving together at CCCB. Pastor Tom became the Associate English Pastor of CCCB in September of 2014.

CCCB currently has about 250 attendees and there are current renovation plans in place to update our facilities and expand our Sanctuary capacity.

The history of CCCB points to the greatness and faithfulness of God. We also want to remember and be grateful to the brothers and sisters who had the vision for this church and the faith to trust God for the resources to finance these building projects. Some of them have gone on to be with our Heavenly Father. Some have moved away from Baltimore. But many of the brothers and sisters still remain at CCCB to this day.

English
Chinese English